Browse Categories

Diamonds-The Four C's

                  The Beauty of Diamonds  


Fine diamonds are among the most coveted of all gems. Their value however, differs widely from one diamond to another. Experts evaluate every diamond for rarity and beauty, using four primary guidelines. These are called The Four C’s – Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat Weight.




When you think of the cut, you probably think of the shape of the diamond. You are partially correct. While cut does refer to shape, it also refers to the proportions of how the diamond is actually cut.


Diamonds are cut into many different shapes, reflecting not only popular taste but the proportions and quality of the rough diamond. The most popular shapes include Round, Oval, Square, Princess, Emerald, Baguette and Marquise cuts. Many specialty shapes are also available.


A diamonds overall proportions, as well as the size and placement of its reflective surfaces or facets, also play a large part in the “cut.” The consistency and balance of these can greatly affect how the stone captures light and reflects it back to the eye.




With the exception of some fancy colored diamonds, the most valuable diamonds are those with the least color. The color scale for transparent diamonds runs from D-F (colorless), G-J (near colorless), K-L ((faint yellow) to Z (light yellow).  Completely colorless diamonds are rare.



Diamond clarity is measured by the existence, or absence, of visible flaws. Tiny surface blemishes or internal inclusions – even those seen only under magnification with a jeweler’s loupe – can alter the brilliance of the diamond and thus affect its value. Clarity levels begin with Flawless (F-IF) and move down to Very Very Slight (VVS1 &2) Slightly Included (SL1&2), and Included (I1,2 & 3).


Carat Weight


The size of the diamond is measured, not by its dimensions, but by weight.  One carat, the traditional unit of measure for diamonds is equal to approximately 0.2grams.  You may also hear the weight of a diamond referred to in points.  A point is equal to 1/100 of a carat; therefore, a 75-point diamonds equals 0.75 carat. Diamonds of equal weight may appear slightly different in size, depending on their depth and proportions.  Because they are quite rare, larger diamonds of gem quality are much more valuable.


Rarity & Beauty


All gem-quality diamonds are rare, taking billions of years for nature to form them.  The journey from the mine to you is long and arduous. While The Four C’s information helps you identify the quality of the diamond you are purchasing, it is the combination of these four characteristics which determine a diamonds rarity. If you imagine a four-sided pyramid, which each side being a diamond characteristic- the more readily available diamonds form the base of the pyramid while the rarest diamonds are at the top.  Keep this pyramid in mind when you are selecting your diamond.  Your selection of characteristics will determine rarity and value.  And remember- beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  A diamond can only be truly perfect if you think it is beautifully perfect for you. 
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty.